top of page

SC Library Association Hall of Fame

Beaufort County Library Director Ray McBride is this year’s winner of the South Carolina Library Association (SCLA) Hall of Fame Award!

This award is given to recognize significant career accomplishments and contributions to the development of library and information services in South Carolina, as well as leadership and service contributing to the advancement of the goals and objectives of the South Carolina Library Association. Mr. McBride is the first individual to receive this new award, which recognized his 20 years as a professional librarian in South Carolina, including:

  • Three years as Systems Administrator in Darlington County Library System

  • Seven years as Operations and Technology Manager in Greenville County Library System (12 libraries)

  • Six years as Director of Libraries in Florence County Library System

  • Three and one half years as Director of Beaufort County Library System

Additionally, Mr. McBride:

  • Served as County/Library System project manager for the construction of sixteen public library facilities in those four counties

  • Served as president of the Public Library Section of the South Carolina Library Association

  • Served as President of the SCLENDS Consortium (21 County Library Systems) for three years

  • Served as member, SC Association of Counties, County Government & Intergovernmental Relations Steering Committee (2009 – 2012) and (2015 - 2017)

  • Served as President, SC Association of Public Library Administrators (2009-2010)

Mr. McBride also received the SCLA Librarian of the Year award in 2009 and the Outstanding Individual Award from the Friends of South Carolina libraries in 2016.

Please join us in congratulating Mr. McBride!

Recent Posts
bottom of page